Hi there, excited you start this new journey with me.

Women in AI community newsletter #1

Why this newsletter?

Who am I and why am I starting this newsletter?

Hi,

my name is Verena and I have been working as a machine learning scientist for over 7 years. My background originally is in statistics but I started working directly in the field of Machine Learning after graduating from university. Last year I left my job as a Research Scientist at Amazon Alexa and became a self-employed Generative AI consultant.

But enough about the dry facts - the reason I am starting this newsletter is not to talk about tech skills and credentials. Instead I want to talk about how it FEELS and what it is like to be a woman in AI. I want to connect to other women in AI (or tech in general) and give us a platform where we can support each other and share our experiences. Because being a woman in AI is not always easy! But having community to share our lived experience with makes it so much easier! When I was still at Amazon, the women in AI affinity group gave me that. Now that I left, I want to create that for every woman in AI - independent of their employer or work mode.

𝐈𝐧 𝐭𝐑𝐞 π›πžπ π’π§π§π’π§π  𝐨𝐟 𝐦𝐲 𝐜𝐚𝐫𝐞𝐞𝐫 𝐈 𝐑𝐚𝐝 𝐧𝐨 𝐒𝐝𝐞𝐚 𝐨𝐟 how to navigate a male-dominated environment 𝐚𝐧𝐝 𝐟𝐞π₯𝐭 𝐭𝐨𝐭𝐚π₯π₯𝐲 𝐝𝐒𝐬𝐞𝐦𝐩𝐨𝐰𝐞𝐫𝐞𝐝 𝐚𝐧𝐝 π₯𝐚𝐜𝐀𝐞𝐝 𝐚 𝐬𝐞𝐧𝐬𝐞 𝐨𝐟 𝐜𝐨𝐧𝐭𝐫𝐨π₯. Over the time I have developed some strategies and tools that help me staying in control. And guess what - it’s not about the tech skills that you acquire. Yes they are important but only a piece of the puzzle. Soft skills often get overlooked in tech environments - but they might be even more crucial. I had to learn this the hard way. A male-dominated environment creates special challenges that call for special tools. Only doing good work is not enough. You need to advocate for yourself, promote your work (in a way that feels comfortable to you), develop confidence, ask for the things you want (likely several times) and work on your limiting beliefs as well as learn to reduce overwhelm and stress.

What can you expect from this newsletter?

Every month I share a mix of studies or facts about being a woman in AI, what helped me throughout the years, some interesting AI news (cause staying up to date is one of the challenges the AI world poses πŸ˜‰ ) and give you some content and event recommendations. But happy to hear from you what you would like to see, just reply to this email πŸ™‚

Is this community only for women?

No! We welcome everyone who wants to learn about what it means to be a woman in a male-dominated environment and maybe even wants to become an ally.

Studies and stats

I decided to include a section about studies because reading that my lived experience aligns with what studies find, validates my experience and helps me letting go of the β€œmaybe it’s just me” thought. In addition, I want to use it to show the gender imbalance and the effects it has.

50 % of women in tech leave the industry by the midpoint of their career

Source: McKinsey Study Women in tech: The best bet to solve Europe’s talent shortage published in January 2023

AI

In this section I will share resources I find useful to keep up with recent AI developments or to learn more about the field. I will put a level behind each resource indicating whether this is for people with expertise or people just starting to learn about AI.

Wellbeing Hack

In this section I will share all kind of wellbeing hacks - wellbeing is key not only to our quality of life but also our professional performance. If you want to do good work, you need to be well! So make it a priority!

Psychological sigh (< 1 min)

Stress and overwhelm are often part of our daily life. However, too high stress levels impede performance as the area in the brain where our logical thinking happens (the frontal lobe) goes offline. The next time you feel stressed, try the psychological sigh described by Andrew Huberman, a professor for Neurobiology & Ophthalmology at Stanford Medicine and podcast host in this tweet:

The physiological sigh: two deep inhales through the nose (no exhale in between), followed by a full exhale to lungs empty (through the mouth) is the fastest way to reduce autonomic arousal β€” aka β€œcalm down” & causes activation of neural circuits specifically for calming.

Andrew Huberman

Events

In this section, I am sharing interesting events to attend in person or online. Since I am based in Berlin, there is a little bit of a bias πŸ˜› 

International Women’s Day is coming up on the 8th of March and it even is a bank holiday in Berlin, there is a lot happening in the Women in AI / tech communities. Find out more about what the International Women’s day is about.

Content recommendations

My favorite pieces of content to learn and grow!

Did you like this newsletter?

πŸ‘‰οΈ If yes, please reply to this email with a short β€œyes” and share it with your colleagues and friends.

πŸ‘‰οΈ Also would love to hear your detailed feedback, just reply to this email.